Book club- On the other side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

Hey guys!

I love reading and thought I would start a book club on here. Every month I will read a book that I will review and talk about here. So the first book I will be talking it about is On the other side by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

The blurb:

” Evie Snow is eighty – two when she quietly passes away in her sleep. It’s the way most people wish to leave the world, but when Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven, she finds that she’s become her twenty- seven- year-old self and the door won’t open.

Evie’s soul must be light enough to pass through so she needs to get rid of whatever is making it heavy. For Evie, this means unburdening herself of the three secrets which have weighed her down for over fifty years before it’s too late. As Evie begins the journey of a lifetime, she learns more about life and love than she ever though possible, and somehow, some way, she may also find her way back to the only man she ever truly loved…”

I don’t think I have ever fallen in love with a book as quickly as much as I have with this book. The story is incredibly told and is a very sweet and ,sometimes heartbreaking, look at love, life and family. The story is based in reality but has some magic sprinkled though and I love that so much. The love story between the main character Evie and Vincent is incredibly sweet and heartwarming and I was so invested in there love.

I read this book in three days because I just couldn’t put it down. I needed to know if Evie got to her afterlife and if there was a happy ending or if I was going to be left sad with life. I did cry a little at this book and the only other book that has managed to make me cry was The Fault in our Stars by John Green.

This book as pushed its way to my second favourite book ever (the first is the whole Harry Potter serious because nothing can top them in my book.) I was so obsessed with this book that when I finished it I ordered the small novella Carrie wrote based on On the Other Side and tells a part of Vincent’s story.

9780751568707

Carrie is an amazing author and I can wait to read her new book :All that she can see” that will be released on the 13th July which you can pre order on Amazon and Waterstones.

Pre order from Amazon here

Pre order from Waterstones here

If you recognise Carrie’s name that is because she is a Youtuber and musical theatre star. She is currently staring in the Addams Family musical as Wednesday Addams and is amazing. ( I did a review on the musical which you can find here.) I will leave some links to Carries channel and the videos in which she talks about this book because who better to get information from then the author.

Carries channel 

Q&A for on the other side (with spoilers)

So over all I would give this book a 5 out of 5 and would recommend to anyone that likes to read.

The book I’m reading for next month is A Love like Blood by Marcus Sedgwick and will leave links below for that.

A love like blood on amazon

A love like Blood Waterstones

21037620._UY200_

Thanks for reading guys!

If you have read this book let me know what you thought or let me know what I should read for future book club posts.

You can follow me on all my social media (button at the side) and you can follow the channel to get notified when I post next.

See you next time!

 

Leave a Reply

